47andfearless











{April 17, 2012}   Less talk, more action!

C’mon. Admit it. You thought I was being a little dramatic when I promised to do 47 new things before my next birthday. You might have given me some credit for the idea, and you might have even believed I was going to stick with it for a few months. Then, after my second “new thing” post, all you saw were a few inspirational quotes and some talk about what’s considered “new”. Did you think: “Julie—How about a little less talk and a lot more action?”

I thought the same thing! Our family had planned to visit the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago last weekend. None of us have been there, so it seemed like it would be fun for all. But our 4-year-old spiked a fever Thursday. His temp was up and down for a few days, so we decided to hold off on the Chicago trip. He’s doing better now—his doctor said it was likely a virus that typically lasts 5 days. So the Chicago visit was postponed, but not canceled.

I’m not making excuses.  I just want to assure you that I’m bailing on my commitment. (Not yet, anyway…LOL.) But who knew these new things would require such planning, equipment and babysitters among other things?

When I started this blog, I thought it would chronicle my 47 new experiences, whether good or bad. I didn’t want to give away what I planned to do before I did it. I didn’t want to hype something and then fail to follow through…or produce disappointing results. But I’ve since changed my mind.

I’d rather get input from people who have tried some of the things I’m considering and invite others to join me in an experience. What’s really cool, though, is that talented friends have offered to share their expertise, show me the ropes or lend me the equipment to try something new. Some of the items I have in mind are way down the line, but here are a few activities in store for me in the near future:

· Go rollerblading. My friend Jen lent me a pair of rollerblades and wrist guards while my friend Mary agreed to take me out rollerblading for the first time. I’m packing the first-aid kit as we speak.  A big shout-out to these lovely and generous ladies! If I end up in a cast, it’s OK, because that would be a new thing, too!

· Taste limburger cheese. I have to give big points to my husband when I told him about my idea to try 47 new things. Instead of saying, “Clean the house” or “Do a sit-up”, he suggested I try limburger cheese. He’s a big cheese lover, but has never tried this stinky…I mean…pungent cheese. I was surprised to learn that Monroe, Wisconsin, is the only place in the U.S. that makes this cheese. So tasting it is on our agenda, and I welcome others (yes, that means you, Mike Beno, even if you eat it everyday for breakfast) to join us!  We could meet at the Chalet Cheese Factory where it’s made, but nearby Baumgartner Cheese Store and Tavern is open weekends and offers a Limburger sandwich (with mustard and onion on rye bread) for $3.25 that can be washed down with local brews (not that one or more will be necessary, of course.) So please let me know if you’d like to join us or add this culinary experience to your bucket list. https://baumgartnercheese.com/menu

· Visit the National Mustard Museum. If you think Wisconsin’s only about dairy products, think again. It’s also home to the National Mustard Museum in Middleton, Wisconsin. The fact that this condiment capitol is not far from my friend Jenny’s house might be a deciding factor in its addition to the list. She and her family are caring for the most adorable English cream golden retriever puppies right now…and any excuse to see them, I mean, her, is reason enough to head that direction. (Did I mention that becoming a puppy mama is one of the new things I’d like to do?) Besides, if I get around to making homemade soft pretzels with my boys (also on the list), having the perfect mustard to serve them with would be icing on the cake!  http://mustardmuseum.com/

What do you think? Would you like to join me on one of these adventures? Or another? Maybe you have something on your bucket list but need a companion? Let me know! I’d love to join you. And I’d love the company…and the chance to split that big limburger sandwich with another person. I’ll buy the beer.

Lori Grzybowski says:

Make the Mustard Museum a “sooner” rather than “later.” http://www.madisonmagazine.com/Madison-Magazine/March-2012/Middletons-Mustard-Problem/



Oh, no! That would be really sad if it closed! I will definitely move this up on the list. And do my part at the store…who doesn’t need a Poupon U t-shirt?!? Thank you for the heads-up, Lori.



maybe make your ideas about you and not around anyone else (family)?



Oh, this is definitely all about me, Tammy! 😉 But finding “alone” time to do some of these things can be a challenge, so I’m trying to include the family when I can. Maybe when Jamie starts kindergarten this fall my schedule will open up a bit. Until then, I’ll do some things with family and some on my own or with friends. Is there anything you’d like to try with me?



Marci says:

Mustard Museum…yum! Another ‘yum’ is right next door…The Hubbard Avenue Diner. Before or after your museum tour be sure to stop by for lunch, or just pie. They have outstanding food (and did I mention pie?) in an adorable atmoshphere. Check it out at http://www.hubbardavenuediner.com/.



Sorry, Marci! Your comment got caught in the spam filter and I just noticed it. Thanks for suggesting the diner. It’s so cute! We will definitely stop there when we visit the Mustard Museum. Mmm…pie!



Wendy says:

Julie, I don’t know if you’ve ever kayaked, but Mike and I would be happy to teach you!



I don’t think what I did sitting in a kayak could be considered “kayaking”…LOL. So I’d love to try it! Thank you!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
