47andfearless











{April 19, 2012}   A Creative Challenge

When I started this blog a few weeks ago, I didn’t know what to expect. I’m thrilled some of my friends and family subscribe to my blog by e-mail so they can follow my adventures. And I have my blog linked to my Facebook account so other friends can read it and share comments there.

But today I got my first official “non-friend” follower! Her name is Michelle and she writes a blog on WordPress called “Roaring Out.” (I hope she doesn’t think I’m creepy for writing about her.)

It turns out she and I have quite a few things in common: a background in writing and editing, a desire to push ourselves outside our comfort zones and furry fingerless gloves (though her red ones are more eye-catching than my gray ones.) At 25, she has much more insight into herself and life in general than I ever did.

She is working on a cool project called 25 @ 25: A Photo Challenge. Her goal is to take a new self-portrait every week to ramp up her creativity and sharpen her photography skills. The results are awesome: reflections, just boots, mid-air kickboxing and more. Learn what inspired her to do it here: http://roaringout.wordpress.com/2011/05/26/25-25-a-photo-challenge/

Her project has inspired me to rekindle my interest in photography. I’m adding “47 @ 47 photo challenge” to my Idea List. I’m not sure if I’ll challenge myself to take more creative pictures of my sons, focus on a different subject, such as architecture or nature, or maybe chronicle my 47 new experiences in photos.

I think this kind of challenge could be helpful in any creative endeavor (poetry, painting, etc.) one wants to refine. What about you? How would you like to challenge yourself? Please share your comments! You might inspire someone like Michelle did!

Michelle says:

Thank you so much for writing this article! (Not creepy at all, by the way). I’m so glad I could be your first “non-friend” follower. I love what you are doing with this blog and I’ll certainly keep up with it to cheer you on! I’m really excited to see the pictures your post for your 47 @ 47 challenge 🙂



Thank you, Michelle! I appreciate the encouragement. And I hope you hold me to my word on the photo challenge–even if it ends up being 48 @ 48!



Michelle says:

Will do! Everyone needs a little encouragement (and coaxing!) when it comes to challenges.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
