47andfearless











{May 22, 2012}   Braving the Water Slides

I started my 47 and fearless project to push myself outside my comfort zone by trying new activities, such as rollerblading, blowing glass and driving a back hoe.

Knowing my goal is 47 new things by next April, I’m constantly on the lookout for the next “big” thing. But having that in the back of my mind has changed the way I approach everyday life as well. I find myself trying little things I might have said “no” to before.

This past weekend, we took our two boys to Key Lime Cove Indoor Waterpark Resort for a night. Our 7-year-old is a bit on the cautious side and either skips the wilder water rides or only goes on them if my husband or I join him. Often, I’d let my husband take him while I stayed in the kiddie area to watch our 4-year-old splash and go down the little slides.

This time, I joined Dylan on a two-person inner tube down one of two giant water slides, Wahoo and Screaming Banshee. (In this photo, the yellow and orange tubes are the inner tube water slides; the blue and red tubes are the body slides mentioned later.) We loved it and screamed all the way down!

Next, we tried the Hurricane Vortex, which the boys describe as a big toilet bowl. (I didn’t take photos; the one featured here I found on the internet.) We had a blast! On our second time down, we went down the “drain” backwards. With the rush of water at the end of the tube, we almost lost our swimsuit bottoms. We came out sputtering, laughing and eager to do it again.

Taking advantage of our good moods, I told Dylan it was time to try the body slides. The park has two of these one-person slides, each an enclosed tube more than 500 feet long. It’s just you—no inner tube—inside a dark, twisting tunnel.

He didn’t want to go. And I have to admit, I didn’t really want to either. But I wanted him to try it, so I promised we’d go down the slides at the same time. Fortunately, the line was short, because Dylan was having second thoughts. We quickly got to the top and took our respective places at the tunnel entrances. I told him to say “go” when he was ready and off we went.

The darkness and unexpected turns made it disconcerting, and sliding down on your back was a little uncomfortable. We both decided that once was enough. (Dylan: “Mom, I am NEVER doing that again!”)

But I’m happy we did it. I also hope the experience will encourage Dylan to try something new in the future, even if it’s a little scary.

Want to know more about my 47 and fearless project? Check out my first post here.

Michelle says:

I agree, the body water slides are really scary! A friend of mine convinced me to go on one a few years ago and I almost chickened out. But I’m glad I didn’t because it was a pretty thrilling experience. I’m glad you and your son could share the thrill together!



Thanks, Michelle! Like you, we almost chickened out. I could tell how scared Dylan was, and if he had changed his mind at the last minute, that would have been fine. I was proud that he followed through. I think doing it gave him a boost of self confidence, too. It was great he and I could share the fear, the thrill and the relief when it was over!



Michelle says:

That is so cool! New experiences are definitely better when shared with others 🙂



jamie says:

You’ve won Legofest tix on my blog — please check it out and send me your contact info. Congrats, and thanks for following my journey!!
runningdivamom at yahoo dot com
http://www.runningdivamom.com



WOW! That’s wonderful! I sent you an email from my hotmail account. Let me know if you don’t receive it or need more info. THANKS SO MUCH!!!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
