47andfearless











{August 6, 2012}   Learn a New “F” Word

frolf [frawlf] frolfed, frolf·ing

1. Verb: To vomit due to ingestion of grande amounts of fromage; French slang

2. Noun: A holistic manipulation of the frenulum (membrane connecting the inside of the lip to the gum) to relieve chronic musculoskeletal pain and stress; orig. Ida Pauline Rolf (1896–1979)

3. Noun: A sport in which plastic discs (Frisbees) are thrown into baskets, usually 9 or 18 in succession, situated at various distances over a course having natural or artificial obstacles, the object being to get the disc into each basket in as few throws as possible

When my friend Angela learned about my 47 and fearless project, she asked, “Have you ever been frolfing?”

I believe my response was something like, “What the heck is frolfing? Oh, it doesn’t matter. I’ll go.”

Unlike the first two definitions listed above, the third is not a product of my imagination. Frolf is Frisbee golf, or disc golf, as the Professional Disc Golf Association prefers to call it.

My boys and I recently met Angela at Miniwaukan Park in Mukwonago, Wisconsin, for our first frolf outing.

There are many cool things about disc golf. Among them: It’s fun. It’s cheap. It’s easy. Come to think of it, that pretty much describes me, too. But I digress…

There are many nuances to frolf, but for a beginner, it’s simple: Aim the Frisbee at the “Pole Hole” (elevated metal basket) and throw it. That’s it.

Yes, it’s helpful to perfect your grip, vary your footwork (run-up) to maximize distance, use different throw styles (Tomahawk), learn the lingo, etc. But those things are not necessary to have a good time.

Angela is a fabulous coach and helped us navigate the course while she offered suggestions in a low-pressure way.

We didn’t keep score as we progressed through the nine holes, and we completed them in little over an hour. Jamie, 5, had fun until he tired around the 7th hole. Dylan, 8, said the outing was “awesome!” And I thought it was a beautiful morning spent outside with great company. We got some exercise, had fun and didn’t break the bank. (We bought two discs ahead of time at $9 each; there is no fee at most disc golf courses.)

Added bonus: I didn’t need to eat a lot of cheese (though as a Wisconsinite, that is an activity I enjoy.)

Have you ever been frolfing? Or do you have suggestions for other activities I should try? Let me know!

Sue says:

This sounds like a lot of fun! And, how wonderful to find something else that you can enjoy with your boys. Girl you are doing a great job with that family of yours. I love reading your stuff. I think Marie (my daughter not your aunt) has your gift with writing. It is so much fun to read what she writes – just like I love reading you.
Love ya! Sue



Aww, thanks so much for your kinds words, Sue! I agree that Marie definitely has a talent for writing! I had been reading her blog when she shared it on Facebook, but your comment reminded I haven’t seen it in quite awhile. So I found your email with her blog address and just subscribed. Thanks for the compliments and for the reminder! xoxo



Michelle says:

So cool! A friend of mine told me about frolfing a few months ago, but I have yet to try it. Looks like you and your boys had a lot of fun 🙂



We did have fun! Hope you get to try it sometime, too!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
